Highlights of the tournament

For the second year in a row, the four first seeds make it through to the men’s semis, and it is the same four players in the same order, namely John McEnroe (No.1), Ivan Lendl (No.2), Jimmy Connors (No.3) and Mats Wilander (No.4). The latter defeats McEnroe in the semis and takes down defending champion Ivan Lendl in the final to take the title for the second time in his career. 

The women’s final between Chris Evert, a five-time winner in the past, and defending champion Martina Navratilova is a classic. Evert finally emerges victorious after almost three hours on court.