Highlights of the tournament

This year sees the inauguration of No.1 Court – a second show court with seating for 4,500. The stadium also reorganizes its outside courts and equips them with stands. The ten-minute break after the third set of men’s matchs and after the second set of women’s matchs is done away with.

Björn Borg takes his fifth title and becomes the first player to win three times in a row. 

In the women’s, Chris Evert is crowned champion for the fourth time.

This is also the first year in which posters are designed for the tournament by leading figures in the world of contemporary art, organized in conjunction with the Maeght-Lelong gallery. The first work in what has become a significant collection is penned by Italy’s Valerio Adami. 

The “Roland Garros Village” public relations area is also launched this year, and is an immediate success. 

Video highlights